//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Time flies…

It took me about 30 seconds.
When the clock struck 12 p.m., my fingers flew over the keys, pounding out the number sequences with fervor.
After a few pinky taps on the return key, I held my breath and clicked “finish enroll.”
In 30 seconds, I scheduled my last Spring Quarter classes — my last classes of college ever.
I felt numb, senses of relief and terror spiraling inside, like an inner turmoil tornado.
I had been waiting for this for four years right?
I’ve always been an end goal kind of girl. When I played soccer I was looking ahead to the end of the game, visualizing an epic comeback. When I was in high school, I couldn’t wait to get to the end because that meant I was headed to college and subsequently a career.
Unfortunately this kind of mindset leads me to miss some things. I don’t necessarily enjoy everything when I have them and then I miss them when they’re gone. But I’m so career oriented, it worked for me.
Work hard, play hard, right? Most of the time the “play hard” aspect of this saying skipped over me because I was too busy attempting to perfect whatever craft was in the cards that day.
So it would seem that the looming closure on my book of lifelong education would excite me. Well, that’s what I thought, too.
I love journalism so much and I cannot wait to become a real journalist. I can’t wait for my internship at The Arizona Republic this summer and I can’t wait to devote 200 percent of my time to my trade.
Just two months ago I was dreading coming back to school. I begged and pleaded with professors and directors and deans to allow me to find some way to complete my education online. I had no desire to be back in college after being out in the real world for six months.
But now, as I click the button that leads to the end of my career, I can’t help but to think about how much I’m going to miss the quaint town of Athens, nestled in the hills of Appalachia. I have so many great memories of this school and this town — I found my true self here. I would never trade my experience in Athens for anything, which is why it’s end is kind of weirding me out.
For the next four months, I plan to blog everyday about something I’ve done in Athens that I will always remember. I want to make every second here count and do everything I can to enjoy every second.

“In all affairs it’s a healthy thing now and then to hang a question mark on the things you have long taken for granted.” – Bertrand Russell

About Alex Stuckey

I am an EW Scripps School of Journalism student at Ohio University. I am the Assistant Managing Editor for The Post in Athens, Ohio and I LOVE my job. I played soccer for 15 years. I love to work out, travel and read.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

